Product Details

Product code: LWP9443

ISBN: 9789123582877

Publisher: Sceptre

Author: Fredrik Backman

Format: Paperback

Language: English

Heroes of Olympus Complete Collection 5 Books Box Set Pack

Heroes of Olympus Complete Collection 5 Books Box Set Pack

Noughts and Crosses 6 Books Collection Set Pack By Malorie Blackman

Noughts and Crosses 6 Books Collection Set Pack By Malorie Blackman

Fredrik Backman 3 Books Collection Set A Man Called Ove, Britt-Marie Was Here

Fredrik Backman

Ages:Young Adult

In Stock

Fredrik Backman 3 Books Collection Set
 
RRP: £26.97
Brand New
 
Titles in this set:
A Man Called Ove
My Grandmother Sends Her Regards and Apologises
Britt-Marie Was Here
 
Description
 
A Man Called Ove
At first sight, Ove is almost certainly the grumpiest man you will ever meet. He thinks himself surrounded by idiots - neighbours who can't reverse a trailer properly, joggers, shop assistants who talk in code, and the perpetrators of the vicious coup d'etat that ousted him as Chairman of the Residents' Association. He will persist in making his daily inspection rounds of the local streets.
But isn't it rare, these days, to find such old-fashioned clarity of belief and deed? Such unswerving conviction about what the world should be, and a lifelong dedication to making it just so?
In the end, you will see, there is something about Ove that is quite irresistible...
 
My Grandmother Sends Her Regards and Apologises
A must-read for fans of Rachel Joyce's The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry and Maria Semple's Where'd You Go, Bernadette Heartbreaking and hilarious in equal measure, by the author of the New York Times bestselling phenomenon A Man Called Ove will charm and delight anyone who has ever had a grandmother. Everyone remembers the smell of their grandmother's house. Everyone remembers the stories their grandmother told them. But does everyone remember their grandmother flirting with policemen? Driving illegally? Breaking into a zoo in the middle of the night? Firing a paintball gun from a balcony in her dressing gown? Seven-year-old Elsa does. Some might call Elsa's granny 'eccentric', or even 'crazy'. Elsa calls her a superhero. And granny's stories, of knights and princesses and dragons and castles, are her superpower. Because, as Elsa is starting to learn, heroes and villains don't always exist in imaginary kingdoms; they could live just down the hallway. As Christmas draws near, even the best superhero grandmothers may have one or two things they'd like to apologise for. And, in the process, Elsa can have some breath-taking adventures of her own ...
 
Britt-Marie Was Here
The number 1 European bestseller by the author of New York Times bestseller and international phenomenon A Man Called Ove, Britt-Marie was Here is a funny, poignant and uplifting tale of love, community, and second chances.
For as long as anyone can remember, Britt-Marie has been an acquired taste. It's not that she's judgemental, or fussy, or difficult - she just expects things to be done in a certain way. A cutlery drawer should be arranged in the right order, for example (forks, knives, then spoons). We're not animals, are we?
But behind the passive-aggressive, socially awkward, absurdly pedantic busybody is a woman who has more imagination, bigger dreams and a warmer heart than anyone around her realizes.
So when Britt-Marie finds herself unemployed, separated from her husband of 20 years, left to fend for herself in the miserable provincial backwater that is Borg - of which the kindest thing one can say is that it has a road going through it - and somehow tasked with running the local football team, she is a little unprepared. But she will learn that life may have more to offer her that she's ever realised, and love might be found in the most unexpected of places.

Product reviews

£10.15

RRP £26.97

Save £16.82

Free UK standard delivery on orders over £30.
Order in with Express Delivery to get this item in the next 48 hours (not including weekends or bank holidays) *UK Only
More Information
Brand Sceptre
Age Group Young Adult
Author Fredrik Backman
Format Paperback
GTIN 9789123582877
Language English
Manufacturer's Suggested Retail Price £26.97
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing:Fredrik Backman 3 Books Collection Set A Man Called Ove, Britt-Marie Was Here
Your Rating